Register  |  Home  |  Chat   |  ArmaBrowser  |  HowTo  |  Wiki  |  ServerStats  |  Donate  |  Forum  |  MapTools  |  Servers  |  Log in 
Forums
Information Desk
Latest News
Round Table
Servers
Trainees
Challenge us!
Off Topic

Clan Information
Public Clan Information
Active CTers+Trainees
All CTers+Trainees
Inactive CTers
CTers Earth Map
CT Groups
CT Medals
Armahacktron Wiki
Forum Ranks
Won/Lost Battles

Servers and Maps
ArmaBrowser
BFC New Ladder
CT Server Ladders
CT Mayhem Ladder
CTWF New Ladder
CT Server Maps
Flower Power Sumo Assault
Map Tools
Want to help? Donate

Jumble
Home Forum
Calendar Chat Messenger IRC
Forum Members
Links FAQ
News View Online

Search

Advanced Search

User Block
Username:

Password:

 Remember me



I forgot my password

Don't have an account yet?
You can register for FREE


Reply to topic
 Map Making ["Language"] Help 
Addict
CT Rank: Not a CTer
Field's place:
Grid Name:
GID: Not working
CT Wild Fort Rank:
Joined: 25 Sep 2006
Posts: R3627 Posts

Reply with quote
Ok, I've been trying to make maps for the WPN server, but I dont get the -Put design here- part. In your servers, how do you make circle rims? I need help with that kind of stuff, any help would be great! Ty
View user's profile Find all posts by {WPN} z Send private message
  
Ex-CTer
Map Maker (Amount: 1)
CT Rank: Not a CTer
Field's place:
Grid Name: syllabear
GID: syllabear@ct/public
CT Wild Fort Rank: na
Joined: 14 May 2006
Posts: 16F361527 Posts
Location: UK
Reply with quote
use the following code (for word applications example wordpad xml files)

[wall]
[point x="(x coordinate)" y="(y coordinate)" /]
[point x="(x coordinate)" y="(y coordinate)" /]
[point x="(x coordinate)" y="(y coordinate)" /]
[point x="(x coordinate)" y="(y coordinate)" /]
[/wall]

if u want to make circles use the elipse maker at [url]generalconsumption.org/armagetron[/url]

_________________
Ex- [CT]Syllabear
Ex- [FE]Syllabear (leader)

A key that opens many doors is a master key. A lock that is opened by many keys is a shit lock
View user's profile Find all posts by syllabear Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
  
Jedi
Crazy Tronner
Clan Admin
Senior Member
Ladle, 1x (Amount: 1) Map Maker (Amount: 1)
CT Rank: 10
Field's place: def-sweep
Grid Name: ctkyle
GID: kyle@ct/jedi
CT Wild Fort Rank: na
Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 4JU365898 Posts
Location: United States
Reply with quote
have you looked at our wiki
http://wiki.crazy-tronners.com/index.php/Map_Making

and other ones
http://wiki.armagetronad.net/index.php/Making_Maps_by_Hand

i think this is the same as ours but
http://wiki.armagetronad.net/index.php/Making_Maps_for_Beginners

also if you want to look at the codes for some of our maps click the map name for it
http://forums.crazy-tronners.com/servers.php

_________________

In theory it should work in reality who knows if it will work.

MB53: I am 26 years old how can i be a teen ? Very Happy
owned: You got the heart of a teen Smile
Gonzap: and the innocence of a little child
View user's profile Find all posts by kyle Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
  
Addict
CT Rank: Not a CTer
Field's place:
Grid Name:
GID: Not working
CT Wild Fort Rank:
Joined: 25 Sep 2006
Posts: R3627 Posts

Reply with quote
use the following code (for word applications example wordpad xml files)

[wall]
[point x="(x coordinate)" y="(y coordinate)" /]
[point x="(x coordinate)" y="(y coordinate)" /]
[point x="(x coordinate)" y="(y coordinate)" /]
[point x="(x coordinate)" y="(y coordinate)" /]
[/wall]

if u want to make circles use the elipse maker at [url]generalconsumption.org/armagetron[/url]

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

I don't undestand why you have to put alot of X and Y coordinates, and also, I dont get the total dimensions; would [point x="(9Cool" y="(37)"/] be very big? Small?
View user's profile Find all posts by {WPN} z Send private message
  
Jedi
Crazy Tronner
Clan Admin
Senior Member
Ladle, 1x (Amount: 1) Map Maker (Amount: 1)
CT Rank: 10
Field's place: def-sweep
Grid Name: ctkyle
GID: kyle@ct/jedi
CT Wild Fort Rank: na
Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 4JU365898 Posts
Location: United States
Reply with quote
it depends on the size factor

most of our maps are about 500 by 500

100 by 100 for nano

_________________

In theory it should work in reality who knows if it will work.

MB53: I am 26 years old how can i be a teen ? Very Happy
owned: You got the heart of a teen Smile
Gonzap: and the innocence of a little child
View user's profile Find all posts by kyle Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
  
Maniac
CT Rank: Not a CTer
Field's place: attack
Grid Name: Durka
GID: Durka@ct/public
CT Wild Fort Rank: na
Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: GU36606 Posts
Location: LA, CA, USA, NA
Reply with quote
I think the default arena is 400 by 400 right? Anyways use this basic format:
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
<!DOCTYPE Resource SYSTEM "AATeam/map-0.2.8.0.dtd">
<Resource type="aamap" name="put_name_of_map_here" version="0.0.1 (this means first version of the map...delete the stuff in parenthesis)" author="your_name_here" category="category_name_here">
<!--In this format above, to play this map you would need to type: MAP_FILE your_name_here/category_name_here/put_name_of_map_here-0.0.1.aamap.xml-->
 <Map version="0.2.8">
 <World>
   <Settings>
   <!--Put settings here. For 4 axes use the example below-->
   <Setting name="ARENA_AXES" value="4" />
   </Settings>
   <Field>
   <!Below are the spawn points...carefully plot where you would like them to be-->
   <Spawn x="256" y="-320" xdir="1" ydir="0"/>

   <!--Zone's go below. Follow the format-->
   <Zone effect="win">
    <ShapeCircle radius="10" growth="0">
     <Point x="256" y="-224"/>
    </ShapeCircle>
   </Zone>
   
   <!--Plot walls below-->
   <Wall height="50">
    <Point x="240" y="-240"/>
    <Point x="240" y="-528"/>
    <Point x="528" y="-528"/>
   </Wall>
   <Wall height="50">
    <Point x="288" y="-320"/>
    <Point x="400" y="-320"/>
   </Wall>
   <Wall height="50">
    <Point x="400" y="-464"/>
    <Point x="400" y="-336"/>
   </Wall>
   <Wall height="50">
    <Point x="240" y="-304"/>
    <Point x="432" y="-304"/>
    <Point x="432" y="-352"/>
    <Point x="464" y="-352"/>
   </Wall>
   <Wall height="50">
    <Point x="480" y="-528"/>
    <Point x="480" y="-320"/>
    <Point x="464" y="-320"/>
    <Point x="464" y="-272"/>
    <Point x="320" y="-272"/>
    <Point x="272" y="-256"/>
   </Wall>
   <Wall height="50">
    <Point x="272" y="-240"/>
    <Point x="272" y="-256"/>
   </Wall>
   <!--Now close all tags like below-->
   </Field>
  </World>
 </Map>
</Resource>
<!--Note: After editing this whole file you must rename it. For how the file first started it would be called: put_name_of_map_here-0.0.1.aamap.xml

Also you may want to delete all of the <!--Comment--> tags-->

_________________
View user's profile Find all posts by Durka Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address MSN Messenger
  
Addict
CT Rank: Not a CTer
Field's place:
Grid Name:
GID: Not working
CT Wild Fort Rank:
Joined: 25 Sep 2006
Posts: R3627 Posts

Reply with quote
Kk, also where do I save it? It says I have to save it as an XML?
View user's profile Find all posts by {WPN} z Send private message
  
Ex-CTer
Map Maker (Amount: 1)
CT Rank: Not a CTer
Field's place:
Grid Name: syllabear
GID: syllabear@ct/public
CT Wild Fort Rank: na
Joined: 14 May 2006
Posts: 16F361527 Posts
Location: UK
Reply with quote
ok for ur first map go to ur armagetron system data.

then go to resource then included, and there are some folders here.

in the folders are some maps that people such as z-man have made. if u want to make a map then create a new folder with ur name (can be anything, i use person instead of syllabear for some weird reason) in the included folder.

it is a good idea to use the maps here as starting points. go inside one of the folders and pick a map. copy it (use copy because although these are text documents they are actually XML files).

in ur folder with ur name on it create another folder, for the type of maps u want to create. in Person folder i have fortress and race folders.

inside the subfolder u just created post the XML file.

open it with word pad or notepad (DONT USE WORD COS ITS GAY). wordpad is better but the best is dreamweaver 8. i use it at school it helps LIKE A BITCH!

_________________
Ex- [CT]Syllabear
Ex- [FE]Syllabear (leader)

A key that opens many doors is a master key. A lock that is opened by many keys is a shit lock
View user's profile Find all posts by syllabear Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
  
Addict
CT Rank: Not a CTer
Field's place:
Grid Name:
GID: Not working
CT Wild Fort Rank:
Joined: 25 Sep 2006
Posts: R3627 Posts

Reply with quote
Sorry for beeing so n00bish, but where would I find Armagetron System Data?
View user's profile Find all posts by {WPN} z Send private message
  
Ex-CTer
Map Maker (Amount: 1)
CT Rank: Not a CTer
Field's place:
Grid Name: syllabear
GID: syllabear@ct/public
CT Wild Fort Rank: na
Joined: 14 May 2006
Posts: 16F361527 Posts
Location: UK
Reply with quote
do u have windows? dont worry i am noob too Very Happy we can rule the world someday

go to start programs armagetron and its there

_________________
Ex- [CT]Syllabear
Ex- [FE]Syllabear (leader)

A key that opens many doors is a master key. A lock that is opened by many keys is a shit lock
View user's profile Find all posts by syllabear Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
  
Jedi
Crazy Tronner
Clan Admin
Senior Member
Ladle, 1x (Amount: 1) Map Maker (Amount: 1)
CT Rank: 10
Field's place: def-sweep
Grid Name: ctkyle
GID: kyle@ct/jedi
CT Wild Fort Rank: na
Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 4JU365898 Posts
Location: United States
Reply with quote
now this is good for loading maps how too its beter than the map making

http://wiki.crazy-tronners.com/index.php/Map_Testing

_________________

In theory it should work in reality who knows if it will work.

MB53: I am 26 years old how can i be a teen ? Very Happy
owned: You got the heart of a teen Smile
Gonzap: and the innocence of a little child
View user's profile Find all posts by kyle Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
  
Addict
CT Rank: Not a CTer
Field's place:
Grid Name:
GID: Not working
CT Wild Fort Rank:
Joined: 25 Sep 2006
Posts: R3627 Posts

Reply with quote
Yeah, I REALLY Don't understand the saving...could some break it down simply? Also, I have MAC OSX
View user's profile Find all posts by {WPN} z Send private message
  
Ex-CTer
Map Maker (Amount: 1)
CT Rank: Not a CTer
Field's place:
Grid Name: syllabear
GID: syllabear@ct/public
CT Wild Fort Rank: na
Joined: 14 May 2006
Posts: 16F361527 Posts
Location: UK
Reply with quote
ok im out for the count... im the windows guy Very Happy

_________________
Ex- [CT]Syllabear
Ex- [FE]Syllabear (leader)

A key that opens many doors is a master key. A lock that is opened by many keys is a shit lock
View user's profile Find all posts by syllabear Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
  
Jedi
Crazy Tronner
Clan Admin
Senior Member
Ladle, 1x (Amount: 1) Map Maker (Amount: 1)
CT Rank: 10
Field's place: def-sweep
Grid Name: ctkyle
GID: kyle@ct/jedi
CT Wild Fort Rank: na
Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 4JU365898 Posts
Location: United States
Reply with quote
something like this is in your code
Code:
<Resource type="aamap" name="name" version="0.0.0" author="author"
category="fortress">


all the bolds come from the code
if that would be your line of code this would be your path

Armagetron Advanced.app/Contents/Resources/resource/included/author/fortress/name-0.0.0.aamap.xml

_________________

In theory it should work in reality who knows if it will work.

MB53: I am 26 years old how can i be a teen ? Very Happy
owned: You got the heart of a teen Smile
Gonzap: and the innocence of a little child
View user's profile Find all posts by kyle Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
  
Ex-CTer
Map Maker (Amount: 1)
CT Rank: Not a CTer
Field's place:
Grid Name: syllabear
GID: syllabear@ct/public
CT Wild Fort Rank: na
Joined: 14 May 2006
Posts: 16F361527 Posts
Location: UK
Reply with quote
i can help him write the actual map code though Very Happy

ok to make the document copy one of the other maps. then create a folder called crazy

inside create a folder called fortress

inside this paste the file

open the file and delete all of the stuff in it.

then copy this:

<xml>
<Resource>
<Map>
<Settings>
</Settings>
<World>
<Field>
<Axes>
<Spawn>
<Spawn>
<Wall>
<Point>
<Point>
<Point>
<Point>
<Point>
</Wall>
</Field>
</World>
</Map>
</Resource>

_________________
Ex- [CT]Syllabear
Ex- [FE]Syllabear (leader)

A key that opens many doors is a master key. A lock that is opened by many keys is a shit lock
View user's profile Find all posts by syllabear Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 3  

  
  
 Reply to topic  Post a reply  

free counters