Register  |  Home  |  Chat   |  ArmaBrowser  |  HowTo  |  Wiki  |  ServerStats  |  Donate  |  Forum  |  MapTools  |  Servers  |  Log in 
Forums
Information Desk
Latest News
Round Table
Servers
Trainees
Challenge us!
Off Topic

Clan Information
Public Clan Information
Active CTers+Trainees
All CTers+Trainees
Inactive CTers
CTers Earth Map
CT Groups
CT Medals
Armahacktron Wiki
Forum Ranks
Won/Lost Battles

Servers and Maps
ArmaBrowser
BFC New Ladder
CT Server Ladders
CT Mayhem Ladder
CTWF New Ladder
CT Server Maps
Flower Power Sumo Assault
Map Tools
Want to help? Donate

Jumble
Home • Forum•
Calendar • Chat • Messenger • IRC •
Forum Members •
Links • FAQ •
News • View Online

Search

Advanced Search

User Block
Username:

Password:

 Remember me



I forgot my password

Don't have an account yet?
You can register for FREE


Reply to topic
 new map idea 
Crazy Tronner
Honorary Member
CT Rank: Not Ranked
Field's place: defense
Grid Name:
GID: loops@ct/senior
CT Wild Fort Rank:
Joined: 10 Apr 2006
Posts: 5136181 Posts
Location: france
Reply with quote


Last edited by loops on Thu Apr 13, 2006 3:55 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/loopsdesign25
View user's profile Find all posts by loops Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
  
Jedi
Crazy Tronner
Server Tech
Honorary Member
Ladle, 1x (Amount: 1) Map Maker (Amount: 1)
CT Rank: Not Ranked
Field's place: sweeper
Grid Name: ct-eddie
GID: ed@ct/jedi
CT Wild Fort Rank: na
Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 1X9362493 Posts
Location: Wales, UK
Reply with quote
I like it.
What are the middle zones?
Sumo or Death Zones?
View user's profile Find all posts by ed Send private message
  
Crazy Tronner
Honorary Member
Donator (Amount: 1)
CT Rank: Not Ranked
Field's place: support
Grid Name: CTΧX3V1
GID: xevic@ct/jedi
CT Wild Fort Rank: na
Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 26B362819 Posts
Location: Barcelona
Reply with quote
Sumo sure, almost he told me, but i think are the better choice, we create a lot of undetermination with such a zones, like in little boxes....

_________________
Visca el Barηa! CUIG (See you in game) and don't forget to sing with us: lalalalala Sing
View user's profile Find all posts by xevic Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
  
Crazy Tronner
Honorary Member
CT Rank: Not Ranked
Field's place: defense
Grid Name:
GID: loops@ct/senior
CT Wild Fort Rank:
Joined: 10 Apr 2006
Posts: 5136181 Posts
Location: france
Reply with quote
yes sumo

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/loopsdesign25
View user's profile Find all posts by loops Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
  
Crazy Tronner
Honorary Member
CT Rank: Not Ranked
Field's place: defense
Grid Name:
GID: loops@ct/senior
CT Wild Fort Rank:
Joined: 10 Apr 2006
Posts: 5136181 Posts
Location: france
Reply with quote

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/loopsdesign25
View user's profile Find all posts by loops Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
  
Jedi
Crazy Tronner
Server Tech
Honorary Member
Ladle, 1x (Amount: 1) Map Maker (Amount: 1)
CT Rank: Not Ranked
Field's place: sweeper
Grid Name: ct-eddie
GID: ed@ct/jedi
CT Wild Fort Rank: na
Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 1X9362493 Posts
Location: Wales, UK
Reply with quote
I like that one too.

Have you used Armabell?

You can get it from here:

http://armagetron.de/league.html

It's what I used, along with a text editor to create my maps. Pretty simple to use, if a bit annoying at times - save reguarly!

you can then preveiw your maps here

http://generalconsumption.org/armagetron/map-preview/

and output to png format. Here's little circles:



I'm happy to make the maps, they'll be fun. But thought you might like to.
View user's profile Find all posts by ed Send private message
  
Crazy Tronner
Honorary Member
CT Rank: Not Ranked
Field's place: defense
Grid Name:
GID: loops@ct/senior
CT Wild Fort Rank:
Joined: 10 Apr 2006
Posts: 5136181 Posts
Location: france
Reply with quote
i cant use armabel, i use illustrator for mac os x
i can save my map in png.

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/loopsdesign25
View user's profile Find all posts by loops Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
  
Ex-CTer
CT Rank: Not a CTer
Field's place:
Grid Name:
GID: Not working
CT Wild Fort Rank:
Joined: 05 Apr 2006
Posts: 2W36104 Posts
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Reply with quote
I use a calculator, and trig to make maps Very Happy (although for the most part i've stolen the base maps from ed Razz)

Ohh and I output directly to ascii art. Really, the network plug in the side of my head can convert the xml file to ascii art. (Matrix had it all wrong, the spinal coord is the wrong place to plug into the brain. Great for funky 3D but it lacks the complexe neuro networking diversity required to transmit data at speeds higher then 500 TB)

_________________
echo "Robed"; fortune;
View user's profile Find all posts by Robed Send private message Visit poster's website
  
Jedi
Crazy Tronner
Server Tech
Honorary Member
Ladle, 1x (Amount: 1) Map Maker (Amount: 1)
CT Rank: Not Ranked
Field's place: sweeper
Grid Name: ct-eddie
GID: ed@ct/jedi
CT Wild Fort Rank: na
Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 1X9362493 Posts
Location: Wales, UK
Reply with quote
loops wrote:
i cant use armabel, i use illustrator for mac os x
i can save my map in png.


Ok. You come up with idea's, I'll make the maps.
But they may change stightly due to the limitaions of armabell.

We'll test them out on Robed Head Tron Server. I wouldn't stay there to long, it's been said to drive a grown man insane.
View user's profile Find all posts by ed Send private message
  
Ex-CTer
CT Rank: Not a CTer
Field's place:
Grid Name:
GID: Not working
CT Wild Fort Rank:
Joined: 05 Apr 2006
Posts: 2W36104 Posts
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Reply with quote
I don't have ftp up. Can't get the ssl certs working for it :/ don't know why... (and I get port scanned enough that to many people would try anonymous loging and then "cwd ../" :/ fucking scriptkiddios, causeing massive logs ~.~ GRRRRR....

So you'll have to pm or e-mail me the map. Ed can you get to my e-mail on my profile, or is that blocked?

_________________
echo "Robed"; fortune;
View user's profile Find all posts by Robed Send private message Visit poster's website
  
Crazy Tronner
Honorary Member
CT Rank: Not Ranked
Field's place: defense
Grid Name:
GID: loops@ct/senior
CT Wild Fort Rank:
Joined: 10 Apr 2006
Posts: 5136181 Posts
Location: france
Reply with quote

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/loopsdesign25
View user's profile Find all posts by loops Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
  
Jedi
Crazy Tronner
Server Tech
Honorary Member
Ladle, 1x (Amount: 1) Map Maker (Amount: 1)
CT Rank: Not Ranked
Field's place: sweeper
Grid Name: ct-eddie
GID: ed@ct/jedi
CT Wild Fort Rank: na
Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 1X9362493 Posts
Location: Wales, UK
Reply with quote
Loops, that last one's crazy.
What kind of special settings to you propose for these maps?

While you're bored, any chance of a new logo for this site?
View user's profile Find all posts by ed Send private message
  
Crazy Tronner
Honorary Member
CT Rank: Not Ranked
Field's place: defense
Grid Name:
GID: loops@ct/senior
CT Wild Fort Rank:
Joined: 10 Apr 2006
Posts: 5136181 Posts
Location: france
Reply with quote
ed wrote:
Loops, that last one's crazy.
What kind of special settings to you propose for these maps?

While you're bored, any chance of a new logo for this site?


the logo is not ready, but soon ...
For the setting i propose something like octagon, a bit slower


_________________
http://www.myspace.com/loopsdesign25
View user's profile Find all posts by loops Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
  
Ex-CTer
CT Rank: Not a CTer
Field's place:
Grid Name:
GID: Not working
CT Wild Fort Rank:
Joined: 05 Apr 2006
Posts: 2W36104 Posts
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Reply with quote
loops wrote:
[
For the setting i propose something like octagon, a bit slower


Problem: Can't set a per fortress decay rate, conquer rate and defend rate.

Decay rate is what always happends (in cvs this is 0.1)
Conquer rate is what happends per attacker in the zone (cvs: 0.3)
Defend rate is what happends for each defender in the zone (cvs: 0.2)

When the count reaches 1, the fortress is conquered (i believe this is 0.3 per second; so passing by the fortress ends up being like 0.7 or so total). The small zones on some of your maps will need something like 0.6 conquer rate, but the larger ones closer to 0.3. So basically there has to be a trade off between how fast the big zones get conquered and how slow the small ones get conquered.

Maybe DecayR: 0.1 ConqR: 0.6 DefR: 0.5 You don't want Decay rate to high or after entering a zone, leaving and reentering it's 'value' will drop to low to fast to take it.

_________________
echo "Robed"; fortune;
View user's profile Find all posts by Robed Send private message Visit poster's website
  
Jedi
Crazy Tronner
Server Tech
Honorary Member
Ladle, 1x (Amount: 1) Map Maker (Amount: 1)
CT Rank: Not Ranked
Field's place: sweeper
Grid Name: ct-eddie
GID: ed@ct/jedi
CT Wild Fort Rank: na
Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 1X9362493 Posts
Location: Wales, UK
Reply with quote
What he said.

Also, You can't specify which zones belong to which team.

You have 2 start positions (in CT fortress). If the zone is closest to blue start, it becomes gold zone and vice versa.

If you want a sumo you need have the zones slightly off centre (0.01 is enough), or the server sometimes wont allocate the zones correctly (you listening robed). That is unless you specify MAX_ZONES_PER_TEAM (or something) but then that's not necesary if they're off centre.
View user's profile Find all posts by ed Send private message
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 2  

  
  
 Reply to topic  Post a reply  

free counters