Register  |  Home  |  Chat   |  ArmaBrowser  |  HowTo  |  Wiki  |  ServerStats  |  Donate  |  Forum  |  MapTools  |  Servers  |  Log in 
Forums
Information Desk
Latest News
Round Table
Servers
Trainees
Challenge us!
Off Topic

Clan Information
Public Clan Information
Active CTers+Trainees
All CTers+Trainees
Inactive CTers
CTers Earth Map
CT Groups
CT Medals
Armahacktron Wiki
Forum Ranks
Won/Lost Battles

Servers and Maps
ArmaBrowser
BFC New Ladder
CT Server Ladders
CT Mayhem Ladder
CTWF New Ladder
CT Server Maps
Flower Power Sumo Assault
Map Tools
Want to help? Donate

Jumble
HomeForum
CalendarChatMessengerIRC
Forum Members
LinksFAQ
NewsView Online

Search

Advanced Search

User Block
Username:

Password:

 Remember me



I forgot my password

Don't have an account yet?
You can register for FREE


Reply to topic
 New fortress mode idea... 
Ex-CTer
CT Rank: Not a CTer
Field's place:
Grid Name:
GID: Not working
CT Wild Fort Rank:
Joined: 05 Apr 2006
Posts: 2W36104 Posts
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Reply with quote
Fortress bombs!

You need to enter your team's fortress to stop the 'decay'. If it decays, someone on your team dies. Have one fortress per player (or more, but 1v1 games would be hard, since spin up would be required). If oppenent enters one of your fortresses, it instah decays and someone dies!

I'm thinking a set-up close to the circles map would be best. short tails, and 6 fortresses that require spining up to keep your teamates alive, while 1 or 2 of them attack.

Could drop it down to say, 4 fortresses, to make 1v1 play a litle more fun. Also, would need a short distance between yours and the other teams forts.

I'm just not sure of how the map should look, since we want it to be fun and playable with say 1 amatuer and 3 newbs on your team vs 2 amatuers and 1 newb or with 1v1 games. Any ideas?

basic settings are:
<Setting name="FORTRESS_CONQUERED_KILL_MIN" value="1" />
<Setting name="FORTRESS_CONQUERED_KILL_RATIO" value="0" />
<Setting name="FORTRESS_CONQUERED_WIN" value="0" />
<Setting name="FORTRESS_CONQUEST_DECAY_RATE" value="-0.05" />
<Setting name="FORTRESS_CONQUEST_RATE" value="100" />
<Setting name="FORTRESS_DEFEND_RATE" value="100" />

_________________
echo "Robed"; fortune;
View user's profile Find all posts by Robed Send private message Visit poster's website
  
Jedi
Crazy Tronner
Server Tech
Honorary Member
Ladle, 1x (Amount: 1) Map Maker (Amount: 1)
CT Rank: Not Ranked
Field's place: sweeper
Grid Name: ct-eddie
GID: ed@ct/jedi
CT Wild Fort Rank: na
Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 1X9362493 Posts
Location: Wales, UK
Reply with quote
I like the idea it sounds like it could be a lot of fun.
Think it may to too complicated for Wild Fortress, I'd like to keep the maps relatively simple.
I'm still not sure about chico's eye with a turbo, but I'll give it a go cause it works.

If you set the map up Robed I can set it running dedicated. I'd like to try it out.
Crazy Tronners Fortress Bombs or something.
I think think that newb's wouldn't grasp it and it wouldn't work unless everyone understood the concepts. Could get mighty frustrating.

Maybe I'm wrong and it works a treat. If so, it'll go in Wild Fortress.
View user's profile Find all posts by ed Send private message
  
Jedi
Crazy Tronner
Server Tech
Honorary Member
Ladle, 1x (Amount: 1) Map Maker (Amount: 1)
CT Rank: Not Ranked
Field's place: sweeper
Grid Name: ct-eddie
GID: ed@ct/jedi
CT Wild Fort Rank: na
Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 1X9362493 Posts
Location: Wales, UK
Reply with quote
I'll have another go at your bomb server later when the kids have gone to bed.
How's it going?

And I like the idea of randomly generated maps, just don't have the skills to do it.

randomly generated walls perhaps , deathzones, multiple fortress zones. Some fun to be had.
View user's profile Find all posts by ed Send private message
  
Ex-CTer
CT Rank: Not a CTer
Field's place:
Grid Name:
GID: Not working
CT Wild Fort Rank:
Joined: 05 Apr 2006
Posts: 2W36104 Posts
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Reply with quote
Does the server allow perl scripts to run?

type this:
Code:

perl -e 'print "worked\n";'


If it works, then I could redo your bash script in perl, and give it a litle more umf.

If not i'll deal with bash, and get something going.

Don't worry about bomb, I tried it for a bit, just didn't work properly... I'll try it later this week, probably durring the busy time, try to get at least 4 or 5 per team on it.

_________________
echo "Robed"; fortune;
View user's profile Find all posts by Robed Send private message Visit poster's website
 perl 
Jedi
Crazy Tronner
Server Tech
Honorary Member
Ladle, 1x (Amount: 1) Map Maker (Amount: 1)
CT Rank: Not Ranked
Field's place: sweeper
Grid Name: ct-eddie
GID: ed@ct/jedi
CT Wild Fort Rank: na
Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 1X9362493 Posts
Location: Wales, UK
Reply with quote
Perl works no problem.

I'd rather work in perl myself, it just evolved from a bash script and i never got round or really had the need to rewrite it.
View user's profile Find all posts by ed Send private message
  
Ex-CTer
CT Rank: Not a CTer
Field's place:
Grid Name:
GID: Not working
CT Wild Fort Rank:
Joined: 05 Apr 2006
Posts: 2W36104 Posts
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Reply with quote
I think perl would be a litle better then bash, for generating random locations of dz's and walls and such. A litle more logic with a litle less typing, then bash. ed, the random race maps server does this, maybe you could try to steal thier script, at the very least to see if they did anything better then you were planning?

As for the bombs game mode, i was thinking of turning it into regular fortress, only you have say 5 or so small forts to protect (5 together that look about the same size and shape as the one fortress on cvs). Now for each fort conquered someone dies. they take all 5, and you lose the round.

Was also thinking about 'nuke' mode. Can't get it to work though. I wanted the point of nuke to be to protect your oppenents forts from them. So let's say i'm blue and ed's gold, I start beside the 5 gold forts and ed, beside the 5 blue forts. the forts decay, untill they disappear. ed (on gold) goes into a blue fort, and nothing happends. Robed (blue) goes into a blue fort and the 'timer is reset'. So the point of nuke game mode is to keep your oppents from reseting thier fortress count down. Again, for each single fortress that goes, someone on that team dies.

_________________
echo "Robed"; fortune;
View user's profile Find all posts by Robed Send private message Visit poster's website
  
Ex-CTer
CT Rank: Not a CTer
Field's place:
Grid Name:
GID: Not working
CT Wild Fort Rank:
Joined: 05 Apr 2006
Posts: 2W36104 Posts
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Reply with quote
This is the link to the bombs map file.

http://robshouse.no-ip.info/tron/ed/fortress/bombs-0.0.7.aamap.xml

ed, you probably want to change a few things

Remove this:
Code:

<!-- Only for my server do we set the rubber this high (EVERYONE has terrible pings) -->
<Setting name="CYCLE_PING_RUBBER" value="10"/>


Change this to higher values, if more then 2v2 is playing, these are terribly low.
Code:

<Setting name="WIN_ZONE_MIN_LAST_DEATH" value="15"/>
<Setting name="WIN_ZONE_MIN_ROUND_TIME" value="30"/>


Finally the motd, and message should be change to something more appropriate.
Code:

<Setting name="MESSAGE_OF_DAY" value="Welcome to the bombs fortress server :D\n(Provided by [CT] Robed's slow ass internet connect, I know, lag, I know)\nThis does well and ed might add it to wild :D"/>
<Setting name="CONSOLE_MESSAGE" value="\n0xff0000There will be bad lag0xffffff\nSet off a 0xff0000~bomb~0xffffff, and kill an opponent, by conquering one of your enemies 0x00ff00fortresses0xffffff\nRemember to protect your 0x00ff00fortresses0xffffff\n"/>


If you run this map on it's own, then that's about it. If you add it to wild, you might want to play with the score stuff, or remove it completely. Here's the most important, do not change settings:
Code:

<Setting name="FORTRESS_CONQUERED_KILL_MIN" value="1"/>
<Setting name="FORTRESS_CONQUERED_KILL_RATIO" value="0"/>
<Setting name="FORTRESS_CONQUERED_WIN" value="0"/>
<Setting name="FORTRESS_CONQUEST_DECAY_RATE" value="0.1"/>
<Setting name="FORTRESS_CONQUEST_RATE" value="0.6"/>
<Setting name="FORTRESS_DEFEND_RATE" value="0.6"/>
<Setting name="FORTRESS_SURVIVE_WIN" value="1"/>
<Setting name="FORTRESS_MAX_PER_TEAM" value="9"/>


Note sure if FORTRESS_MAX_PER_TEAM is needed or not, but whatever.

_________________
echo "Robed"; fortune;
View user's profile Find all posts by Robed Send private message Visit poster's website
  
Crazy Tronner
Honorary Member
Donator (Amount: 1)
CT Rank: Not Ranked
Field's place: support
Grid Name: CT×X3V1
GID: xevic@ct/jedi
CT Wild Fort Rank: na
Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 26B362819 Posts
Location: Barcelona
Reply with quote
I enjoy a lot the map when i try it. It will be a great map for wild.

_________________
Visca el Barça! CUIG (See you in game) and don't forget to sing with us: lalalalala Sing
View user's profile Find all posts by xevic Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
  
Jedi
Crazy Tronner
Server Tech
Honorary Member
Ladle, 1x (Amount: 1) Map Maker (Amount: 1)
CT Rank: Not Ranked
Field's place: sweeper
Grid Name: ct-eddie
GID: ed@ct/jedi
CT Wild Fort Rank: na
Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 1X9362493 Posts
Location: Wales, UK
Reply with quote
Set it up on it's own server instance.
Had a good game, was a lot of fun. Similar to normal fortress, but you blew up more.

Perhaps the map should be longer so the zones are further apart, so defence has more chance to build.

New Idea:
How about something like Speed Dome where there are a few zones dotted around. as you hit them your one of opponents die. They can be in awkward places. It will be a race to zones before you explode.

Or something like the race server, with random tiny zones you shoot past at high speeds, if you're lucky or skillful enough to get one, you kill an opponant, last one alive wins for the team.

So many possiblities.
Should it be merged with Wild or a new one?

Maybe Wild could have 12 levels instead of 10 to accomodate the new maps?
View user's profile Find all posts by ed Send private message
  
Ex-CTer
CT Rank: Not a CTer
Field's place:
Grid Name:
GID: Not working
CT Wild Fort Rank:
Joined: 05 Apr 2006
Posts: 2W36104 Posts
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Reply with quote
Ed a few fixes:
start position should be offset and the fortresses are to close together

Change the start positions from:
Code:

   <Spawn x="128" y="78" xdir="0" ydir="1"/>
   <Spawn x="128" y="434" xdir="0" ydir="-1"/>


to:
Code:

   <Spawn x="127" y="78" xdir="0" ydir="1"/>
   <Spawn x="129" y="562" xdir="0" ydir="-1"/>


add 128 to all the y's of the second team's fortress. for example:

Code:


   <!-- 9 O'clock -->
   <Zone effect="fortress">
    <ShapeCircle radius="13">
     <Point x="101" y="64"/>
    </ShapeCircle>
   </Zone>

   <Zone effect="fortress">
    <ShapeCircle radius="13">
     <Point x="101" y="448"/>
    </ShapeCircle>
   </Zone>


to:
Code:


   <!-- 9 O'clock -->
   <Zone effect="fortress">
    <ShapeCircle radius="13">
     <Point x="101" y="64"/>
    </ShapeCircle>
   </Zone>

   <Zone effect="fortress">
    <ShapeCircle radius="13">
     <Point x="101" y="576"/> <!-- Change this y, by adding 128 to it's value -->
    </ShapeCircle>
   </Zone>


finally change the walls to:
Code:

   <Wall height="10">
    <Point x="0" y="0"/>
    <Point x="256" y="0"/>
    <Point x="256" y="768"/>
    <Point x="0" y="768"/>
    <Point x="0" y="0"/>
   </Wall>

_________________
echo "Robed"; fortune;
View user's profile Find all posts by Robed Send private message Visit poster's website
  
Ex-CTer
CT Rank: Not a CTer
Field's place:
Grid Name:
GID: Not working
CT Wild Fort Rank:
Joined: 05 Apr 2006
Posts: 2W36104 Posts
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Reply with quote
Could always do this with wild, and add another $RANDOM dice roll for each map.

if it's less then 3, do normal (aka, mapname-ver.aamap.xml), if greater do bombs mode (aka mapname_bombs-ver.aamap.xml).

chico sumo wouldn't work with this, but most of the other maps would. I left some of the calculations for the fortress postions in the bombs xml map file.

Here's the calculations for the 9 fortress zones to replace the one, with a normal mode fortress of radius 40
fortresses:
789
456
123

5 is the center, and has a radius of 14
4,8,6 and 2 fortresses have a radius of 13
7,9,3 and 1 fortresses have a radius of 12

4 is (x of 5) - (14 + 13); same y as 5
etc... for 8,6 and 2, 8 and 2 doing y, instead of x

7 x = (x of 5) - (sin(45) * (14 + 13))
7 y = (y of 5) + (cos(45) * (14 + 13))
cos and sin of 45 are the same, so only need to calculate that once. Don't have sin/cos? sin(45) = 1 / square_root(2), sorry can't type the square root sign, lol

_________________
echo "Robed"; fortune;
View user's profile Find all posts by Robed Send private message Visit poster's website
  
Jedi
Crazy Tronner
Server Tech
Honorary Member
Ladle, 1x (Amount: 1) Map Maker (Amount: 1)
CT Rank: Not Ranked
Field's place: sweeper
Grid Name: ct-eddie
GID: ed@ct/jedi
CT Wild Fort Rank: na
Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 1X9362493 Posts
Location: Wales, UK
Reply with quote
Okay, mage the changes, it is now a longer fortress.

when you said make the y axis 768, you meant 660 of course. Or were you just trying to confuse me?

it's up now. It's a bit messy with some Wild Messages it picks up from somewhere. I'll tidy it when I have time.
View user's profile Find all posts by ed Send private message
  
Ex-CTer
CT Rank: Not a CTer
Field's place:
Grid Name:
GID: Not working
CT Wild Fort Rank:
Joined: 05 Apr 2006
Posts: 2W36104 Posts
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Reply with quote
ed wrote:
when you said make the y axis 768, you meant 660 of course. Or were you just trying to confuse me?


We're you putting in the 660? Razz 512 + 128 = 768, no? Razz Ohh lol, woops 640, haha, your wrong too, it's 640, not 660 Razz

Sorry ed, i did quick math, was just going for the next resonable amount of ram after 512, who knew you can usually only go from 512 to 768, and not 640 RAM? Razz

_________________
echo "Robed"; fortune;
View user's profile Find all posts by Robed Send private message Visit poster's website
  
Ex-CTer
CT Rank: Not a CTer
Field's place:
Grid Name:
GID: Not working
CT Wild Fort Rank:
Joined: 05 Apr 2006
Posts: 2W36104 Posts
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Reply with quote
ed can you allow dir browsing on http://plantpeanuts.co.uk/resource/ or http://plantpeanuts.co.uk/resource/ed/fortress/? don't need it for the rest of the site, but be nice to say, run say "cd ~/armagetronad/resource/automatic/ed/fortress/; wget -A xml -m http://plantpeanuts.co.uk/resource/ed/fortress/; armagetronad"
wget ~= minor that section of the site, but only download if newer

I'd like to get a fresh copy of all the maps anyways, and try to run a script i've been working on to create a ed/fortress_bombs/ folder and alter the appropriate tags in the files atomatically. So we'd only need to maintain the regular versions of the games, and auto-generate the bombs versions.

_________________
echo "Robed"; fortune;
View user's profile Find all posts by Robed Send private message Visit poster's website
  
Crazy Tronner
Honorary Member
Donator (Amount: 1)
CT Rank: Not Ranked
Field's place: support
Grid Name: CT×X3V1
GID: xevic@ct/jedi
CT Wild Fort Rank: na
Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 26B362819 Posts
Location: Barcelona
Reply with quote
U can get the maps on ur arma user dir on resource dir.

_________________
Visca el Barça! CUIG (See you in game) and don't forget to sing with us: lalalalala Sing
View user's profile Find all posts by xevic Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 2  

  
  
 Reply to topic  Post a reply  

free counters