Register  |  Home  |  Chat   |  ArmaBrowser  |  HowTo  |  Wiki  |  ServerStats  |  Donate  |  Forum  |  MapTools  |  Servers  |  Log in 
Forums
Information Desk
Latest News
Round Table
Servers
Trainees
Challenge us!
Off Topic

Clan Information
Public Clan Information
Active CTers+Trainees
All CTers+Trainees
Inactive CTers
CTers Earth Map
CT Groups
CT Medals
Armahacktron Wiki
Forum Ranks
Won/Lost Battles

Servers and Maps
ArmaBrowser
BFC New Ladder
CT Server Ladders
CT Mayhem Ladder
CTWF New Ladder
CT Server Maps
Flower Power Sumo Assault
Map Tools
Want to help? Donate

Jumble
HomeForum
CalendarChatMessengerIRC
Forum Members
LinksFAQ
NewsView Online

Search

Advanced Search

User Block
Username:

Password:

 Remember me



I forgot my password

Don't have an account yet?
You can register for FREE


Reply to topic
 armabell 
Newbie
CT Rank: Not a CTer
Field's place:
Grid Name: ~Pyr0Maniac~
GID: Pyr0Maniac@ct/public
CT Wild Fort Rank: na
Joined: 24 Jan 2008
Posts: 2362 Posts
Location: Alberta, Canada
Reply with quote
this might be a bit of a noobish question from me, but,
what was armabell originally and why did it stop being made and working properly?
(i only know a bit about it)

also why isn't the server browser running anymore?
and about making maps in it......how is this done?
i can make some maps in it but after making the walls, what do i do?(ie. saving, resource repository, others?)

i want to make a few maps and maybe run them on my new server(when it comes out)

thanks for the time to help=D
View user's profile Find all posts by Pyr0Maniac Send private message
  
Very Annoying
CT Rank: Not a CTer
Field's place:
Grid Name:
GID: epsy@ct/public
CT Wild Fort Rank:
Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 6S36244 Posts

Reply with quote
http://forums.armagetronad.net/viewtopic.php?t=18273
View user's profile Find all posts by epsy Send private message MSN Messenger
  
Newbie
CT Rank: Not a CTer
Field's place:
Grid Name: ~Pyr0Maniac~
GID: Pyr0Maniac@ct/public
CT Wild Fort Rank: na
Joined: 24 Jan 2008
Posts: 2362 Posts
Location: Alberta, Canada
Reply with quote
that only covers a few of my questions....

theres still main armabell ones=P

thanks for map questions. =)
View user's profile Find all posts by Pyr0Maniac Send private message
  
Crazy Tronner
Server Tech
Honorary Member
Bowl Winner (Amount: 1) defender, 3rd rank (Amount: 1) Fortress Cafe Tournament 1 Winner (Amount: 1) Map Maker (Amount: 1)
CT Rank: 14
Field's place: def-sweep
Grid Name: CT~Voodoo
GID: Voodoo@ct/jedi
CT Wild Fort Rank: na
Joined: 05 May 2006
Posts: 14P361465 Posts
Location: somewhere on earth
Reply with quote
If i'm not wrong, a guy called IF wrote armabell. He did not share the source and unfortunatelly his Pc crashed. The work was lost and he did not want to redo it.
For some reason, he also include a limit date, probably expecting to release new versions ...

The map tool is still usable using some tricks. I don't know about any other features of armabell, I only used the map maker tool, but they probably suffer the same problem as the map tool and no one care about it cause other tools provide the same functionality (there's plenty of server browser). There's some issue with it especially if you try to work on maps with more then 4 axes

anyway, you should have a look at some web pages and graphic tools that can be really useful and far more interesting than armabell to build sophisticated maps:
svn2aamap and map previewer: they are both available here http://crazy-tronners.com/maptools.php (kind of shortcut to the original pages)
resource browser: http://beta.armagetronad.net/resource-browser/resource/
map transformer: http://wrtlprnft.ath.cx/python/maptransform.py/maptransform

We use inkscape to draw the map and get an svn file of it and those pages to convert them to map file, trasform and preview them. That's just great tools but it need a bit more personal investment to learn them...
View user's profile Find all posts by Voodoo Send private message Yahoo Messenger
  
Jedi
Crazy Tronner
Server Tech
Honorary Member
Ladle, 1x (Amount: 1) Map Maker (Amount: 1)
CT Rank: Not Ranked
Field's place: sweeper
Grid Name: ct-eddie
GID: ed@ct/jedi
CT Wild Fort Rank: na
Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 1X9362493 Posts
Location: Wales, UK
Reply with quote
There's some more info here http://forums.armagetronad.net/viewtopic.php?p=194531#194531 about armabell.
To save, iirc, you right click anywhere and save the map wherever you want.
You will really need to read this too: http://wiki.armagetronad.net/index.php?title=Map_Making in order to make the map usable.
View user's profile Find all posts by ed Send private message
  
Mad
CT Rank: Not a CTer
Field's place:
Grid Name: urg|AoS|
GID: beta@ct/public
CT Wild Fort Rank: na
Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 1W3668 Posts
Location: Paris
Reply with quote
Yet another example of vendor locking disaster brought to you by "The proprietary software people associated®"

http://groups.google.com/group/linux.dev.kernel/msg/76ae734d543e396d wrote:
Only wimps use tape backup: _real_ men just upload their important stuff on ftp, and let the rest of the world mirror it

_________________
In a world without walls or fences, what use do we have for windows or gates ?
AoS : http://aos.ath.cx
View user's profile Find all posts by beta Send private message
  
Addict
CT Rank: Not a CTer
Field's place: attack
Grid Name: Ratchet
GID: Ratchet@ct/public
CT Wild Fort Rank: na
Joined: 19 Feb 2008
Posts: T3629 Posts

Reply with quote
Edit: Nevermind xD

_________________
View user's profile Find all posts by Ratchet Send private message MSN Messenger
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic  Post a reply  

free counters